Press Release – June 7th

Ythan riders in national action

Grampian evening road race No.3 – Fetternear

The third Grampian evening road race of the season started off at Fetternear, near Kemnay, and consisted of 4 laps (54km) of a 13.5km circuit taking in Fetternear, Burnhervie, Woodend and Blairdaff. On a cool and windy evening, the conditions, as well as the climb from near the Bennachie visitor centre, would test the riders, including Ythan’s Alan Smith and Stuart King.

Under neutralised conditions the riders set off from Fetternear Hall in the direction of Burnhervie. With the flags dropping to signify the start of the race, the 44 riders crossed what would be the finishing line. Aided initially by a tailwind, the race set off at a fast pace on the technical descent through Burnhervie. But as the riders came out of the shelter of the trees on the way towards the Bennachie Visitor centre, they were exposed to the full strength of the headwind. Coupled with the fast pace and undulating road, this would lead to a large group of riders breaking away prior to the riders making the first ascent of the climb from the Bennachie centre car-park entrance to Blairdaff.

Alan Smith was in the lead group, but got stuck behind two Moray Firth riders towards the top of the climb, and dropped off the back of the lead group on the fast descent towards Blairdaff. He continued to push for the next two and a half laps on his own before being caught by a chasing pack of around 10 riders, with only 1km to go. He then contested the sprint to the finish with the group, finishing in 25th place in a split time of +7:52.

The race was won by Jamie Davidson of Bioracer-Moriarity Bikes in a time of 1:17:02, only 2 seconds ahead of Michael Gordon of Aberdeen Wheelers. The two riders had been in the breakaway for most of the 4th lap and finished 38 seconds ahead of the peloton of 18 riders. A large number of riders failed to finish, including Ythan rider Stuart King, who retired due to a technical issues with his bike. 

Glentress Sevens MTB endurance race

Technical descent at the GT 7s

Saturday 25th May saw mountain bikers descend on Glentress for the 9th  edition of the Odlo Glentress Seven, an endurance mountain bike event held as part of the Tweedlove Bike Festival. The event is firmly established as one of Scotland’s most popular MTB events, billed as “ a great day’s riding and racing for everyone, with the emphasis on great trails and a friendly, fun atmosphere.”

The course is around 11km, with 380m of climbing on each lap. The aim is to complete as many laps as possible in the seven-hour time limit. Riders choose to ride solo, or in teams of 2 or 3, with the teams riding in relay fashion, and one team member on the course at any one time.

Andy Scouler, Craig MacBeath and Russ Craig made the trip south to compete in the event, with all of them electing to compete as solo entrants. The race started with nice, dry and dusty conditions, but as the day progressed the rain moved in, making for changeable conditions. By the time the riders finished they were having to contend with very slidy and muddy tracks.

Scouler finished in 26th place, having completed 7 laps of the demanding course despite having mechanical issues on the 2nd lap.  Russ Craig completed 5 laps, finishing in 47th place with Craig McBeath completing 4 laps and finishing 39th in his age category. Read more about Andy’s race here.

National 25 mile Time Trial

The national 25 mile time trial was held on Sunday 2nd June, starting on the northbound carriageway midway between the exits for Forfar and Glamis/Forfar. The riders were set off 1 minute apart northward to the turn at Brechin, before finishing near the start-line. Ythan’s Carol Middleton returned to the time-keeper in a time of 1.07.10, with Mike Giles posting a personal best time of 56.35.

Ythan CC Confined Time Trial no. 4

A large contingent of riders turned up for the fourth of the season’s time trial events on Tuesday 28th May, held on the out-and-back course on the B9000 from Pitmedden. All riders enjoyed excellent riding conditions, with almost all posting their fastest times of the season. The times of the three fastest riders were:

  • Women            
    • Jenny Noble                   27:37
    • Fiona Duncan  30:36   
    • Wendy Gault                  31:37    
  • Men
    • Alan Smith                      23:18
    • Mike Giles                       24:06
    • Stuart King                     24:10
  • Junior
    • Gavin Gronkowski       32:46