Caird Park Spring Track Meet Sunday 12 May 2013

All race reports and results featuring Ythan Members

Caird Park Spring Track Meet Sunday 12 May 2013

Postby The Loneys » Fri May 17, 2013 8:33 pm

Report by Martin Harris of Discovery Juniors courtesy of Braveheart Cycling Forum.

The first round of the Braveheart Cycling Fund youth omnium series took place last Sunday at Caird Park. The meeting included rounds of the British Cycling Sprinters league and Womens Omnium series. All this led to over 90 competitors entering and signing on for a packed days racing. Although a few spots of rain blew through, nothing held up the racing.
The Youth series this year, includes the three meetings included in the BC Youth Omnium series, 2nd June Meadowbank and 16th June Sir Chris Hoy velodrome, as well as the now two date meeting over the weekend of 7th & 8th September. The Saturday event has been created to host the recently confirmed Scratch Championships. The Saturday was at Scottish Cycling request to avoid a clash with other events. The Youth series finals are planned for 5th October at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome.
Anyway, back to the racing. As is usual with youth track racing, the A's and B's had male and female events, with the C's racing all together.
Youth A Boys
Jack Carlin (Team Thomson Cycles) claimed two wins, including a sub 60 seconds for the 800m time trail, to beat Grant Martin (Perth United CC) by just a point, with Matthias Barnet (Edinburgh RC) third.
1 Jack Carlin Team Thomsons Cycles 5
2 Grant Martin Perth United Cycling Club 6
3 Matthias Barnet Edinburgh RC 10
4 Ben Forsyth Edinburgh RC 13
5 Jack Crombie Sandy Wallace Cycles 13
6 Lewis Mulholland Johnstone Wheelers CC 18
7 Danny Hedley Discovery Junior Cycling Club 20
8 Andrew Vettraino Glasgow Riderz 25
9 Alistair Merry Discovery Junior Cycling Club 26
10 Charlie Swan Perth United Cycling Club 29

Youth A Girls
Regular at the Caird park meetings, Rebecca Morley (Beacon Wheelers) won the A Girls, from Emma Borthwick (Edinburgh RC) second and Lulu Barlett (Edinburgh Racers) claiming third ahead of Lauren Smith (Discovery JCC) on countback.
1 Rebecca Morley Beacon Wheelers 4
2 Emma Borthwick Edinburgh RC 6
3 Lulu Bartlett Edinburgh Racers 10
4 Lauren Smith Discovery Junior Cycling Club 10
5 Keira Johnston Glasgow Riderz 15

Youth B Boys
Joe Nally (Hardie Bikes) was only beaten in the time trial, finishing third, which meant the top three were evenly matched throughout. Lewis Stewart and Alexander MacRae completed the podium places, both riding for Glasgow Riderz.
1 Joe Nally 5
2 Lewis Stewart Glasgow Riderz 6
3 Alexander MacRae Glasgow Riderz 7
4 Innes Johnston Glasgow Riderz 12
5 Calum Shackley Glasgow Riderz 16
6 Danny Mulholland Johnstone Wheelers CC 17
7 Matthew Running Glasgow Riderz 22
8 Scott Christie Discovery Junior CC 24
9 Max Bloor Edinburgh RC 26
10 Adam Hazle Johnstone Wheelers CC 30

Youth B Girls
Amber King (Perth United CC) completed a clean sweep to beat Laura Meiklejohn (Discovery JCC) and Luisa Steel (Johnstone Wheelers)
1 Amber King Perth United Cycling Club 3
2 Laura Meiklejohn Discovery Junior Cycling Club 8
3 Lusia Steele Johnstone Wheelers CC 9
4 Morgan Binnie Johnstone Wheelers CC 10

Youth C
Alfie George (Discovery JCC) matched Amber, with a clean sweep in the Yoiuth C events, with Jack Cruden (Glasgow Riderz) taking second in each event. Aaron King (Perth United CC) claiming the third step on the podium.

Youth D
Never forgotten, the younger riders got their events as well, with Callum Reid taking the honours.
1 Callum Reid Stirling Bike Club 3
2 Alistair Meiklejohn Discovery Junior Cycling Club 7
3 Matthew Black Manx Viking Whls CC 8

It was great as an organiser and coach, to see such a good entry for the senior events. It is fantastic to see how some of the new crop of juniors are competing against the seasoned senior riders, having progressed from the youth ranks.
British Cycling Sprinters League
A new group of riders coming through, the Glasgow velodrome producing a crop of sprinters to get in amongst the City of Edinburgh riders.
1st Sean Mayer Swinnerton Cycles
2nd Graeme McBride Glasgow Whls
3rd Toby Sherwood City of Edinburgh RC
4th Andrew Louis Glasgow Life Track Cycling Team
5th Jonathan Biggin Glasgow Life Track Cycling Team
6th Jamie Alexander Glasgow Nightingale CC
7th Jonathan Mitchell Team Thomsons Cycles
8th Martin Lonie
9th Barnaby Swinnerton Swinnerton Cycles
10th Philip Trodden City of Edinburgh RC
11th Callum Watson City of Edinburgh RC
12th Ivor Reid Clachnacuddin CC

British Cycling Womens Omnium
If Katie Archibald (City of Edinburgh) was tired at the end of the the day, it wouldn't be a surprise, as she had already competed in the National 10 mile TT Championships in Fife before heading for Caird Park. It was good to see an increase in the numbers of women racing, with 15 ladies taking part in the Omnium.
1 Katie Archibald City of Edinburgh RC 13
2 Janet Birkmyre Champion System/Maxgear/Base 16
3 Anna Railton Team ASL360 18
4 Flora Gillies Team ASL360 20
5 Louise Haston City of Edinburgh RC 31
6 Ishbel Taromsri Pedal Power RT 31
7 Louise Borthwick Edinburgh RC 33
8 Sophie Black Manx Viking Whls CC 37
9 Emma Baird City of Edinburgh RC 39
10 Anna Harris Angus Bike Chain 46
12 Kirsty Howatson 55
13 Alison McGill 62
14 Megan Riach Moray Firth Cycling Club dnf
15 Jenny MacDougall City of Edinburgh RC dnf

Open 12 Km Points Race
1 Mark Stewart Team ASL360
2 Gavin Murty City of Edinburgh RT
3 Zak Loney Ythan CC
5 Martin Lonie
6 Peter Anderson City of Edinburgh RC
14 Angus Gillies
16 Greg Brown City of Edinburgh RC
19 Philip Trodden City of Edinburgh RC
22 Hector Lancaster Perth United Cycling Club
24 Callum Watson City of Edinburgh RC
25 Neil Withington VC St Raphael
26 Derek Smith City of Edinburgh RC

Open 8km Scratch
1 Angus Gillies
2 Mark Stewart Team ASL360
3 Gavin Murty City of Edinburgh RT
4 Martin Lonie
5 Callum Watson City of Edinburgh RC
7 Philip Trodden City of Edinburgh RC
8 Greg Brown City of Edinburgh RC
9 Zak Loney Ythan CC
10 Peter Anderson City of Edinburgh RC
11 Paul Stewart Paisley Velo Race Team
12 Neil Withington VC St Raphael
13 Hector Lancaster Perth United Cycling Club
14 Finn Harrod Discovery Junior Cycling Club
15 Derek Smith City of Edinburgh RC
16 Edd Shackley Glasgow Ivy CC
17 Ewen Riddell Deeside Thistle CC

Martin Harris
It doesn't get easier, you just go faster

Zak also got 4th in the Eliminator with Mark Stewart 1st and Gus Gillies 2nd, full results for this unavailable
The Loneys
Maillot Jaune
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:36 pm

Return to The Blue Final

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests






Website design and hosting by QD Design